List of Books to Read ?>

List of Books to Read

Stack of books

Book Title                               Author

Wheel of Time series –  Robert Jordon / Fantasy
The Wheel of Time
The Eye of the World
The Great Hunt
The Dragon Reborn
The Shadow Rising
The Fires of Heaven
Lord of Chaos
A Crown of Swords
The Path of Daggers
Winters Heart
Crossroads of Twilight
Knife of Dreams
The Gathering Storm

New Spring

The Liveship Series – Robin Hobb / Fantasy
Ship of Magic
The Mad Ship
Ship of Destiny

The Farseer Trilogy – Robin Hobb / Fantasy
Assassin’s Apprentice
Royal Assassin
Assassin’s Quest

The Rain Wild Chronicles – Robin Hobb / Fantasy
The Dragon Keeper

The First Chronicles of Thomas- Stephen Donaldson / Fantasy
Covenant the Unbeliever
The Second Chronicles
The Runes of the Earth
Fatal Revenant
Lord Fouls Bane
A man Rides Through

Dragonriders of Pern – Anne McCaffrey / Fantasy
Dragonflight
Dragonquest
Dragonsong
Dragonsinger
The White Dragon
Dragondrums
Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern
Nerilka’s Story
Dragonsdawn
The Renegades of Pern
All the Weyrs of Pern
The Chronicles of Pern: First Fall
The Dolphins of Pern
Dragonseye
The Master Harper of Pern
The Skies of Pern
The Gift of Dragons
Dragon’s Kin
Dragonsblood
Dragon’s Fire
Dragon Harper
Dragonheart
Dragon Girl
Dragon’s Time

The First Law Trilogy – Joe Abercrombie  (An absolute must for Dark Fantasy readers)
Best Served Cold
Heroes
Red Country

The Dark Tower series – Stephen King / Fantasy
The Gunslinger
The Drawing of the Three
The Wastelands
The Wizard and the Glass
Wolves of Calla
Song of Susannah
The Dark Tower
The Wind through the Keyhole

The Fionavar Tapestry – Guy Gavriel Kay / Fantasy
The Summer Tree
The Wandering Fire
The Darkest Road

A Song for Arbonne – Guy Gavriel Kay

DragonLance -books any and all – Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman

Chronicles
Dragons of Autumn Twilight
Dragons of Winter Night
Dragons of Spring Dawning

Legends Trilogy
Time of the Twins
War of the Twins
Test of the Twins

The Lost Chronicles
Dragons of the Dwarven Depths
Dragons of the Highlord Skies

The Second Generation
Dragons of Summer Flame
Dragons of a New Age trilogy
The Dhamon Saga trilogy
War of the Souls trilogy
Dark Souls trilogy
Heroes trilogy
Kingpriest trilogy

Raistlin Chronicles
The Soulforge
Brothers in Arms

Tales Chronicles
Elven Nations series
Dwarven Nations series
Kang’s Regiment series
Defenders of Magic series

Crown of Stars series – Kate Elliot
Kings Dragons
A Prince of Dogs
The Burning Stone
Child of Flame
The Gathering Storm
A Crown of Stars

Darkglass Mountain trilogy – Sara Douglass / Fantasy
The Serpent Bride
The Twisted Citadel
The Infinity Gate

Threshold – Sara Douglass / Fantasy
Beyond the Hanging Wall
The Devils Diadem

Trinity trilogy – Fiona McIntosh / Fantasy
The Quickening trilogy
Percheron trilogy

Godspeaker – Karen Miller / Fantasy
Empress of Mijak
The Rivan Kingdom

The Belgariad series – David Eddings / Fantasy
Pawn of Prophecy
Queen of Sorcery
Magician’s Gambit
Castle of Wizardry
Enchanter’s End Game

The Malloreon series – David Eddings / Fantasy
Guardians of the West
Kings of the Murgo
Demon Lord of Karanda
Sorceress of Darshiva
The Seeress of Kell

The Elenium series – David Eddings / Fantasy
The Diamond Throne
The Ruby Knight
The Sapphire Rose

David & Leigh Eddings / Fantasy
Polgara the Sorceress
Belgarath the Sorcerer
The Eder Gods
The Treasured One
Crystal Gorge
The Younger Gods

The Tamuli series – David Eddings / Fantasy
Domes of Fire
The Shining Ones
The Hidden City

 George R Martin / Fantasy
A Game of Thrones
A Feast for Crows
A Dance with Dragons

Saga of the Exiles – Julian May / Sci Fi (Brilliant – fantasy)
The Many-Coloured Land
The Golden Torc
The Non Born King
The Adversary

Here Be Dragons – Sharon Penman   (Historical)
The Sunne in Splendour
The Reckoning
Falls of the Shadow

The Three Worlds series – Ian Irvine / Fantasy
The View from the Mirror Quartet
A Shadow on the Glass
The Tower on the Rift
Dark in the Moon
The Way between the Worlds

The Will of Echoes Quartet – Ian Irvine / Fantasy
Geomancer
Tetrarch
Scrutator
Chimaera

Song of the Tears Trilogy – Ian Irvine / Fantasy
Torments of the Traitor
The Curse on the Chosen

The Camulod Chronicles – Jack Whyte    (Historical)
The Skystone
The Singing Sword
The Eagles Brood
The Fort at the Rivers Bend
The Lance Thrower
The Sorcerer
The Eagle
Robert the Bruce
The Saxon Shore
Uther

Cathedral of the Sea – Ildefonso Falcones  (Barcelona Historical)

New York – Edward Rutherfurd   (Historical)
Sarum
Russka
The Forest
Dublin
Ireland Awakening
Paris

Shabono – Florinda Donner  (A visit to the Heart of the South American Jungle)

The Sword of Truth series – Terry Goodkind / Fantasy
Wizard’s First Rule
Stone of Tears
Blood of the Fold
Temple of the Winds
Soul of the Fire
Faith of the Fallen
The Pillars of Creation
The Naked Empire

The Walrus and the Warwolf – Hugh Cook  ( Another favourite / Fantasy)

The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams / Sci Fi – Fantasy

The Fatal Shore – Robert Hughes   (Australian Historical)

The Axis Trilogy – Sara Douglass / Fantasy
Battleaxe
Enchanter
Starman

The Quickening series – Fiona McIntosh / Fantasy
Myrren’s Gift
Blood and Memory
Bridge of Souls

Trinity series – Fiona McIntosh / Fantasy
Betrayal
Revenge
Destroy

Percheron series – Fiona McIntosh / Fantasy
Odalisque
Emissary
Goddess

The Clan of the Cave Bear – Jean M. Auel
The Valley of the Horses

Philippa Gregory
The White Queen
The Red Queen

Markus Heitz – Fantasy
The Dwarves
The War of the Dwarves

JRR Tolkien – Fantasy
The Hobbit
Lord of the Rings

1415 henry V’s Year of Glory – Ian Mortimer (Historical)

Sharon Penman – (Historical)
The Sunne in Spendour
Falls the Shadow
When Christ and his Saints Slept
Devils Brood
Here Be Dragons
The Queen’s Man
Lionheart
The Reckoning

The Westlands Cycle – Katherine Kerr / Fantasy
A Time of Exile
A time of Omens

Daggerspell – Katherine Kerr / Fantasy
Darkspell
Dawnspell
Dragonspell

The Pendragon Cycle – Stephen Lawhead (Historical)
Taliesin
Merlin
Arthur

The Dragon King Saga – Stephen Lawhead (Historical)
In the Hall of the Dragon King
The Warlords of Nin
The Sword and the Flame

Mary Stewart (Historical)
The Crystal Cave
The Last Enchantment
The Hollow Hills

R. Scott Bakker / Fantasy
The Darkness that comes before
The Warrior Prophet

The Painted Man – Peter V Brett / Fantasy

The Name of the Wind – Patrick Rothfuss / Fantasy

Gillian Bradshaw (Historical)
Kingdom of Summer
In Winter’s Shadows
Hawk of May

The Dune Trilogy – Frank Herbert / Sci Fi

T.H.White – (Historical)
The Book of Merlyn
The Once and Future King

The Makers of Scotland – Tim Clarkson (Historical)

The Book of Words – J.V. Jones / Fantasy
The Baker’s Boy
A Man Betrayed
Master and Fool

Sword of Shadows – J.V. Jones / Fantasy
A Cavern of Black Ice
A Fortress of Grey Ice
A Sword from Red Ice
Watcher of the Dead

The Barbed Coil – J.V. Jones / Fantasy

 

Add your favourite to this list and share with others who like to read. Send me your book and author via – chocolategirl46@hotmail.com and I will add it to the list.

We are fast losing this wonderful past time to busy lives and technology. Reading is a way to escape within the confines of your mind. Don’t say you cant find 30 minutes in the day to exercise your imagination, pick up a book and take a holiday from life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments are closed.